MEA’s National Awards program is the most prestigious and highly regarded event industry Awards program in Australia.



The MEA Awards program is the pre-eminent event awards program in the country, now entering its 38th year. It is the only awards program that is run for the entire meetings and events industry sector, covering all types of events from all over Australia. 

The award categories encompass the entire breadth of the events sector and have been designed to encourage and recognise exceptional achievements, creativity and outcomes for events held within Australia over a 12-month period. When you enter the MEA Awards, you are competing against other professionals in the events industry - both members and non-members. 



2021 was no normal year, and the capacity to deliver events around Australia was at best hindered but many times negated by government policies implemented to best possibly manage the COVID pandemic. With this reality recognised and an intention to protect the integrity of the Awards, the MEA Board has resolved with regret that an awards program for 2021 will not be conducted. This was not a decision made lightly or quickly, and the Board acknowledges there will be disappointment felt by some.

Chairman Michael Firman commented “The Board is confident that whilst regrettable, its decision to abstain from holding an awards program in 2022 is right and in the best interests of the program’s integrity, and past and future winners. The capacity to deliver events around Australia last year was hindered by the realities experienced in managing the COVID pandemic. Our hope is that the environment will improve to being one that supports an abundance of events this year that will in turn underwrite a keenly contested Awards program in 2023.



  • Recognise those who demonstrate excellence in the organisation, planning and delivery of business events, major events and festivals, special events, cause-related events, conferences and exhibitions.

  • Reward individuals who excel in the planning, operation, marketing and delivery of events; and suppliers, destinations and agencies who attract events, push the boundaries, create and innovate.

  • Identify excellence in venues and national events that demonstrate leadership and exceptional delegate or visitor experience; and

  • Reinforce the value of the events industry and promote greater recognition for the sector within the wider business community.

  • In 2020 due to COVID-19, Hall of Fame inductees will include winners of the national award in the same category for the periods 2018 and 2019 then will make a special allowance where the winner has won in 2020 or 2021.